Pre-Order Page for
The Year's Best African Speculative Fiction

The Year's Best African Speculative Fiction 2021 was created to draw attention to the works of Africans and people of African descent. This was intended to address visibility and other marginalizing barriers that exist for Africans and people of African descent on the global stage. This project was envisioned and then given life by Nigerian writer and editor, Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki.

While Oghenechovwe had anticipated some logistical obstacles, he could never have guessed the degree of problems he ended up facing. These obstacles included the pandemic and related vaccine-hoarding policies, the Endsars protests and subsequent Lekki Massacre, and a Twitter ban by the Nigerian government. Slur-slinging racists, harassing trolls, Goodreads review-bombing, a ban and delisting of the book by virtually all American/British venues and seizure of funds, and the same from Smashwords and Draft2Digital because of the country of origin (Nigeria).

Despite all these obstacles, the 2021 edition made the Nerds of a Feather and Locus recommended reading lists and got outstanding reviews by various reviewers and venues including by Arley Sorg (co-editor of Fantasy Magazine) in Lightspeed, Brandon Crilly of Black Gate, Matthew Cavanagh of Runalong The Shelves, Mark Walter of Ginger Nuts of Horror, Adri Joy of Nerds of a Feather, Sarah Deeming of British Fantasy Society, T.G Shenoy of Locus Magazine, Fiona Moore of the British Science Fiction Association.

Because of all the continuing difficulties and obstacles faced by Oghenechovwe to keep The Year's Best African Speculative Fiction 2021 in print, he has partnered with Arc Manor's CAEZIK SF & Fantasy imprint to have the book re-published through them. The new CAEZIK edition is expected to be released in April as both an eBook and a hardcover (the first time the book will be available in any paper format).

CAEZIK SF & Fantasy is also issuing the new book in the annual series, The Year's Best African Speculative Fiction 2022.


You can preorder either of the two volumes here:


Preorder the CAEZIK edition of The Year's Best African Speculative Fiction 2021:


Paper via Amazon

Paper via Barnes & Noble

Preorder the CAEZIK edition of The Year's Best African Speculative Fiction 2022:


Paper via Amazon
Paper via Barnes & Noble

Special Offer: preorder the eBook version of both volumes for a 30% discount.

Click here to order both and get the 30% discount.

The anthology won the coveted World Fantasy Award for best anthology and was a finalist (either for best editor or best anthology) for the Hugo, the Locus and the British Fantasy Awards. A remarkable, unprecedented achievement for a book that was delisted by virtually every sales venue in the US and Britain.

The 2021 edition was envisioned and edited by Ogenechovwe Donald Ekpeki.
Two decorated editors join him for the 2022 edition


Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki is an African speculative fiction writer, editor & publisher in Nigeria. He has won the Nommo award twice, and an Otherwise and British Fantasy award. His novelette “02 Arena” won the Nebula award, and is a Hugo award finalist, making him the first African to be a Nebula best novelette winner and Hugo best novelette finalist. The thought-provoking piece was also a finalist for British Science Fiction, British Fantasy and Nommo awards. He edits The Year's Best African Speculative Fiction anthology series, which he's the first African Hugo award best editor finalist for Volume One. He’s the first BIPOC to be a Hugo award finalists in fiction and editing categories in the same year, and The Year's Best African Speculative Fiction Volume One anthology he edited and published is also a Locus, British Fantasy and World Fantasy award finalist. His works of fiction and non-fiction have appeared, and are forthcoming, in Asimov's, Tordotcom, Uncanny Magazine, Strange Horizons, Apex Magazine, Galaxy's Edge, and more. He co-edited the Dominion anthology, Africa Risen anthology, and is a guest of honour at the forthcoming 2022 Cancon and 2023 International Conference for the Fantastic In The Arts (ICFA).

Eugen Bacon pix.jpg

Eugen Bacon is an African Australian author of several novels and fiction collections. She's a 2022 World Fantasy Award finalist, and was announced in the honor list of the 2022 Otherwise Fellowships for “doing exciting work in gender and speculative fiction.” Eugen's short story collection, Danged Black Thing by Transit Lounge Publishing was a finalist in the British Science Fiction Association, Foreword Indies, Aurealis and Australian Shadows awards. Her creative work has appeared in literary and speculative fiction publications worldwide, including Award Winning Australian Writing, Fantasy Magazine, Fantasy & Science Fiction, and The Year’s Best African Speculative Fiction. Her books in 2022: Mage of Fools (novel), Chasing Whispers (collection) and An Earnest Blackness (essays). Visit her website at and Twitter @EugenBacon.

Milton headshot.jpg

Milton Davis is an award winning Black Speculative fiction writer and owner of MVmedia, LLC, a publishing company specializing in science fiction and fantasy based on African/African Diaspora history, culture and traditions. Milton is the author of thirty novels and short story collections: his most recent the Sword and Soul adventure Eda Blessed II. Milton is also a contributing author to Black Panther: Tales of Wakanda, published by Marvel and Titan Books, and co-author of Hadithi & the State of Black Speculative Fiction with Eugen Bacon. He is the editor and co-editor of ten anthologies; Terminus: Tales of the Black Fantastic from the ATL; Cyberfunk!; The City, Dark Universe and Dark Universe: The Bright Empire with Gene Peterson; Griots: A Sword and Soul Anthology and Griot: Sisters of the Spear, with Charles R. Saunders; The Ki Khanga Anthology, the Steamfunk! anthology, and the Dieselfunk! anthology with Balogun Ojetade. Milton’s work had also been featured in Black Power: The Superhero Anthology and Rococoa published by Roaring Lions Productions; Skelos 2: The Journal of Weird Fiction and Dark Fantasy, Steampunk Writers Around the World published by Luna Press; Heroika: Dragoneaters published by First Perseid Press, Bass Reeves Frontier Marshal Volume Two, and Slay: Stories of the Vampire Noire. Milton Davis and Balogun Ojetade won the 2014 Urban Action Showcase Award for Best Script. Milton’s story “The Swarm” was nominated for the 2017 British Science Fiction Association Award for Short Fiction and his story, “Carnival,” has been nominated for the 2020 British Science Fiction Association Award for Short Fiction. His story, “The Monsters of Mena Ngai,” appears in the Marvel Black Panther: Tales of Wakanda anthology. Milton is a 2022 recipient of the East Coast Black Age of Comics Convention Lifetime Pioneer Achievement Award.

An Imprint of Arc Manor