Annual Award for the

Best Unpublished Science Fiction Short Story by a New Author

Sponsored by Galaxy's Edge (published by Arc Manor) and Dragon Con

Short Story (definition): A story up to 7,499 words, as defined by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA).


New Author (definition): An author who has not had any work published (including short stories, novelettes, novellas, and novels in paper, digital or audio form) that has been paid a per-word rate of 6 cents a word or more or received a payment for any single work of fiction totaling more than $50.

If the author has self-published the piece then their total earnings from any single piece of fiction may not exceed $50 from all published venues.

Eligibility: New science fiction short story by a new author. The story must not have previously been released to the public via any means, including online, digital, or paper publications, or privately through such avenues as newsletters, Patreon and the like. This award is exclusively for science fiction stories, not any other form of speculative genres (including fantasy and horror) and Arc Manor (the publisher of Galaxy’s Edge magazine) will be the final decider of this criteria in case of any disputes.


Submissions are open to everyone. They do not need to be current members of Dragon Con.


Submission Fee: None.


Submission Process:

1. All submissions must be made electronically as an MS Word document or an RTF (Rich Text Format) document.


2. The manuscript should be formatted with size 12 text, black Times New Roman font, lines double spaced. Pages need to be numbered and each page should also have the story title (this information can be included as a header or a footer). The name of the author should not appear on the actual manuscript.

The story needs to be accompanied with a single title page which should have the following information:

a) The title of the story.
b) The name of the author.
c) The approximate word count of the story.

d) Contact information for the author. Ideally this should include an email address, a phone number and a physical address.

e) A short statement that the author has read the eligibility requirements for the award and is in compliance with the requirements.


3. Submissions should be emailed directly to Please note that submissions will only be accepted on or after January 1, 2021.

The above email is only to be used for submission purposes and inquires sent to the submissions email address will be automatically deleted.


4. Only one submission per entrant is allowed for the current submission year.


Submission Dates: Stories may be submitted between January 1, 2021 and April 30, 2021 for consideration for the 2021 Dragon Awards ceremony. 


Finalist Announcement: The five finalists for the award will be announced by July 15, 2021.


Award Ceremony: Awards will be handed out during the Dragon Awards ceremony during Dragon Con 2021 to be held in Atlanta from September 2 to September 6.


First Place Prize: The first place winner will get a trophy, a cash award of $250.00 and have their story bought (at the magazine’s prevailing rate) by Galaxy’s Edge for publication in the magazine.


Runner-up Prizes: The second place winner will be given a prize of $100 and the third place winner a prize of $50.

Judging Process: All submissions will be considered by a pool of readers organized by Arc Manor. Those determined to be the best stories will be forwarded (with all identifying information about the author deleted) to a select panel of writers and editors who will choose the top five entries and decide upon the winner. All decisions by Arc Manor and its judges are final and binding. Arc Manor will not entertain any discussion about the merits, techniques, judging criteria or any other aspect of the competition.

Inquires: Inquiries regarding the award may be sent to Please put Resnick Inquiry in the subject line.


Mike Resnick, along with editing the first seven years of Galaxy’s Edge magazine, was the winner of five Hugos from a record thirty-seven nominations and was, according to Locus, the all-time leading award winner, living or dead, for short fiction. He was the author of over eighty novels, around 300 stories, three screenplays, and the editor of over forty anthologies. When he was not writing, Mike mentored new authors, taking great pride in his "writer children," being as dedicated in helping them reach their career milestones as achieving his own.

More about Mike Resnick
Mike Resnick Bibliography 

This site is maintained by Arc Manor LLC. All material is copyright 2021 by Arc Manor.